report on resolutions

It’s officially halfway through the first month of the new year, and before it escapes me, I need to put some resolutions to the proverbial paper.  I’ve been giving this a lot of thought and prayer, and while I don’t think I’m done reflecting – heck, who says I can only make resolutions in January?? – I do think I need to formalize this in some way, or it will be 2013, and not much will have changed.

I’ve hesitated because I still have reflecting to do and my list and plan aren’t perfect, but that actually leads me to one of my first goals:

Resolution #1Let go of perfectionism.

I’m a pretty driven person – not ambitious as much as I am disciplined. I can’t stand half-assed work or attempts at things. I believe that when you do something, you do it excellently. However, if something isn”t perfect, I won’t consider it complete. Obviously, excellence is not a bad standard, but perfection is, only because it is unattainable.  So, this year I am going to strive to do things excellently and do my best – but that doesn’t mean I can’t be satisfied with less than perfection. My blog posts do not have to be perfect before I post them; my lesson plans every day do not have to be award-winning for their originality and innovation; all of my down time does not need to be spent cleaning, cooking, planning…in some attempt to make my home and life perfect. I used to get so mad at my students when I found out they actually did a story or assignment but it sat on their desk at home because it wasn’t perfect in their eyes. Or they would leave a series of assignments incomplete, stuffed under their beds, because they couldn’t get it perfect and wouldn’t turn in what they had. But, I can kinda relate. So, in a word, I am giving myself permission, this year, to be human.

Resolution #2Get healthier.

OK, this typically is code for ‘lose weight.’ And I concur. Yes, I’ve gained 10 lbs. since being married and I’d like for that to come off. But I don’t want to try a new ‘diet.’ I know I have to make some lifestyle changes – like, cut the sweets and sugar, stop the frantic grazing between meals, and start exercising with some regularity. And, I know I need to be holistically healthier – mind, body, soul, and spirit. I still need to formalize a plan for this,  but a good beginning for me on the physical side is to just get the unhealthy food out of the house and plan my meals ahead of time to eat better – to eat thoughtfully and intentionally, and not emotionally or hurriedly. And, this actually leads to my next goal:

Resolution #3: Slow down.

Another buzz word I hear alot is to simplify.’ I’ve struggled with this. I have given this lots of thought, and honestly, I don’t know what I could cut out of my life to make it simpler. I work two jobs, I have a husband and a home, I go to church, and honestly, there are not a lot more extras. We don’t run around and go out a lot (well, for QT for us, but not just to be busy), our calendars aren’t full with family and friends, and we aren’t formally in ministry. And actually, there is a lot more I would like to be doing, not less – like getting together with friends, visiting my sister, seeing my family, going to local event in my community. But I feel drained almost daily. My job is super-demanding and I’m spent by the end of the day.

However, I realize I need to still slow down a little more internally somehow. And for me, I think that is just the key – to remind myself, after I’m running full speed on the hamster wheel, to slloooowwwww dowwwwnnnn. Even if it means I walk slower around my building instead of racing around, or pause when I feel myself getting swept up in the frenzy and breeeaaaaathe. Or stopping to count my blessings and remember Jesus in my life. But somehow, I’ve got to live life within the speeds limits. Internally, I often feel like I’ve surpassed ‘reckless driving’ and I’m about to red-line. Not totally sure how to accomplish  this, but I’m OK with figuring some of this out this year. And some of this might come via my next goal:

Resolution #4: Manage my time better.

Because of all of the above, some extra planning can go a long way. I have since made a schedule for myself and a list to start the week. It’s OK if I don’t keep it perfectly, but at least I have some kind of map and I’m not last-minute-cramming.  Already, this has helped…clipping coupons and seeing what stores have sales, planning which days I’ll do my errands, exercising and cleaning based on my work schedule, penciling in some tentative outings. Even if I have to cut some of those things off my list for the week, I have a feeling I’ll actually accomplish some of the others. I’ve read about some women praying about their daily schedule in the mornings, and I think this would be a good idea for me too – to let God help me orient the order of my day.

I feel pretty good with this start to my resolutions; it is a work in progress, as am I. I have a few resources I’m working through to give my life a little more focus. And I have a few other goals to consider:

  • How can I grow spiritually this year – in ministry and in my relationship with Jesus?
  • How can I incorporate friends and some mentoring relationships? 
  • Where am I heading professionally – in education, for further education, in writing?

But in light of Resolution #1, in the convoluted words of Joyce Meyer – I’m on my way, and it’s OK.

4 thoughts on “report on resolutions

  1. Hi, my name is Mary Anne. I am 47 years old, teacher, mother of one daughter who is 18. I am a Christian and had been married for 11 years. Within my first year of my marriage I realized I needed help prioritizing the things I wanted to do with my time. I too have found myself coming up short on energy at the end of the day. There is so much just at home that seems important to take care of….meal planning, cleaning, praying to name a few. I came across The Priority Planner and it helped me get organized as a wife and homemaker. I also appreciated Steven Covey’s book 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. It led the reader into a process of identifying what was most important and what they wanted to be remembered for after living out their lives choosing from one moment to the next how to spend that thing called time. Maybe you will find it helps. I came across your older blog while looking up the blessed and unblessed. I appreciate your diligence in seeking out why the good comes one day and the not so good the next. Why some families seem to have it all and others struggle daily from one generation to the next. I am thankful for all I have and of late grieve over what it seems I have lost. I see fear generationally in my family and hope that it does not pass on to my daughter’s future. I am learning about spiritual roots to disease and how some seem to be healed when they identify the sin that seemed to stream through their lives (offenses to self and from others) under the radar. I am glad you continued your blog and hope you will keep sharing. I long to see the power of God in our lives as Christians. I see in the Word how even those closest to our Lord would at one point be laying hand on the sick and healing them and next I see them being murdered for their faith. One minute they appear blessed and the next they appear cursed/forgotten.

  2. Hi Kate! Life keeps us away from blogging sometimes, doesn’t it? It happened to me… busy with hubby, girls and life in general… I read your last update on your “journey to the Altar” blog and it sent me here… I see it’s been hard still to keep your blog going! It’s been hard for me to! So I can totally relate … but I’ve been updating a lot lately and I hope I can keep up! I can’t do it without the support of my friends and I thought of you! I hope You’ll continue to blog and update! It will be great reading you! Please stop by “The Coffee Shop” one of these days! And let me know how you are doing! Thanks. Paloma.

  3. Hi Kate! I thought I had already left a comment yesterday but I had some issues with the whole “log-in
    thing” (my fault for having several WordPress accounts LOL) so… anyway… I don’t know if you remember me… But I used to follow your “journey to the altar” blog … then I disappeared for a while (after your wedding) I just couldn’t keep up with the blogging, my children, cooking, etc… so I decided to “quit blogging” for a while… I am back and I started posting more recently, hoping I would later contact my “old friends” and hopefully re-connect again… So I visited your “journey to the altar” blog and it sent me here… and now I see you haven’t been updating here… I hope everything is ok… and going well on your side of Eden! 😉 I understand there are different seasons in life when blogging doesn’t even seem doable or wise to do 🙂 but at least I hope you read this and know that you are remembered 🙂 Hopefully I’ll hear from you soon! Paloma.

  4. Hi Kate! I thought I had already left a comment yesterday but I had some issues with the whole “log-in
    thing” (my fault for having several WordPress accounts LOL) so… anyway… I don’t know if you remember me… But I used to follow your “journey to the altar” blog … then I disappeared for a while (after your wedding) I just couldn’t keep up with the blogging, my children, cooking, etc… so I decided to “quit blogging” for a while… I am back and I started posting more recently, hoping I would later contact my “old friends” and hopefully re-connect again… So I visited your “journey to the altar” blog and it sent me here… and now I see you haven’t been updating here… I hope everything is ok… and going well on your side of Eden! 😉 I understand there are different seasons in life when blogging doesn’t even seem doable or wise to do 🙂 but at least I hope you read this and know that you are remembered 🙂 Hopefully I’ll hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

